Social Links Search User Login Menu
Tools
Close
Close

Navajo ICWA Program

Navajo Indian Child Welfare Act Program

 

 

 

Establishment & Background of Program

Establishment and Background of ICWA:  The Indian Welfare Act (ICWA) of 1978, P.L. 95-608 U.S.C. Section 1901-1963, was enacted by the U.S. Congress on November 09, 1978. "First, the Act was result of reports that; Indian children were more likely, 1 out of every 26, to be adopted; 82% of Indian children in placement were adopted by non-Indian families; 1 out of every 124 Indian children were in foster care in non-Indian foster homes or non-Indian institutions. These numbers showed the extremely high removal rate of Indian children. Second, the special relationship between the United States and the Indian Tribes; Federal Trust responsibilty to Indian people is what prompted the establishment of these minimum Federal standards and safeguards governing the placement of Indian chilren." (United States Congress, House of Representatives. Establishing Standards for the Placement of Indian Children in Foster or Adoptive Homes, to Prevent the Breakup of Indian Families... Ninety-Fifth Congress, on H.R. 12533... on July 24, 1978. Washington D.C., 1978.)

On May 13, 2020, the Health, Education and Human Services Committee (HEHSC) of the Navajo Nation Council approved the amendment of the Division of Social Services' Navajo Indian Child Welfare Act Program's Plan of Operation by Resolution HEHSC 0108-20.  This resulted in the program name change from Navajo Children & Family Services to Navajo Indian Child Welfare Act Program.

 

Mission & Goal

Mission:  The Navajo ICWA Program was established to promote the stability and security of Navajo families by providing services to preserve and reunite Navajo families who are located off the reservation with their children who are subject to removal from their parents for placement in foster care or adoptive homes.  The Adoption Unit within in the NICWAP promotes the permanent placement of Native American children in Native American homes for the preservation of cultural identity.

Goal:  To protect the best interest of Indian children…to promote the stability and security of Indian tribes and families with the opportunity to become permanent members of a family.  On a case by case basis, the ICWA Social Workers provide the following services, but not limited to:

  • Provide case management

  • Consultation, collaboration and coordination with state child welfare agencies and courts

  • Provide education on cultural teachings

  • Maintain Intergovernmental Agreements (IGA) with the states of Arizona, New Mexico and Utah

  • Advocate for Navajo children and their families

 

PROGRAM & STAFF CONTACT INFORMATION
Window Rock Office - Administration  moved and merged with ICWA at St. Michaels Office, 2nd floor of 2 story NICWAP Building behind Post Ofice
Staff Job Title Extension E-Mail Address
Riley V. Wilson Program Manager 6806 rileywilson@navajo-nsn.gov
Crescentia Tso Principal Social Worker  7202 crescentiatso@navajo-nsn.gov
Dianna Shay Office Specialist 6806 diannashay@navajo-nsn.gov
Jacqueline Yazzie Social Worker/Intake 6711 jacquelineyazzie@navajo-nsn.gov
Christelle Holyan Research Assistant 6767 cholyan@navajo-nsn.gov
Ernestine Reeder Social Worker 7343 ereeder@navajo-nsn.gov
St. Michaels Office - Admin & Direct Service  ♦  PO Box 769, St. Michaels, AZ 86511  ♦  (928) 871-7006  ♦  (928) 871-7604 or 7049 (fax #s)  ♦  (928) 349-1719 / 1720 / 1721 (cell #)
Lillie Reed Principal Social Worker 7042 lreed@navajo-nsn.gov
VACANT Senior Social Worker 7006  
Elise Mix Senior Social Worker 7374 elisemix@navajo-nsn.gov
Delphine A. Segodi Senior Social Worker 7583 dsegodi@navajo-nsn.gov
Cassandra Gorman Senior Social Worker 7261 cassandragorman@navajo-nsn.gov
Celeste C. Smith Senior Social Worker 6979 csmith@navajo-nsn.gov
Donna Toledo Senior Social Worker 6620 donnatoledo@navajo-nsn.gov
Lynette R. Mose Social Worker 7373 lynettemose@navajo-nsn.gov
Loretta Chia Caseworker 7208 lchia@navajo-nsn.gov
Malerie Todacheenie Caseworker 7275 mtodacheenie@navajo-nsn.gov
CONFERENCE ROOM   7205  
Back To Top